e-Lacrosse : news, games, videos, blogs, forums, store

2009 E-Lacrosse Feature: E-Lacrosse wins Scott Boyle Summer Lacrosse League championship

Lacrosse is such a small world. E-Lacrosse has sponsored many teams over the years. In the Scott Boyle Summer Lacrosse League, previously the Maryland Summer League, we sponsored a team for many years of Hopkins guys and their All-American friends, but that team always lost in the final to Lax World, with Mark Hahn and Marc Hoffman and the over-40 (now 50) gang.

A few years ago, I met Matt Kurrle at a Gettysburg Game, I think. He told me he had a team in the league and was looking for sponsorship. We had two teams in the league that year. We couldn't really afford two teams every year and in all the turnover of sponsors, teams and players we jumped at the opportunity to sponsor the Marc Hoffman-led team that had schooled us in the championships for so many years.

Fast forward to the 2008 Scott Boyle Summer Lacrosse League Championship, last Tuesday; E-Lacrosse vs. Portside. Portside was very good, but E-Lacrosse prevailed 10-8, I think with a mix of older and younger guys. It turns out that Portside is Matt Kurrle's team. It was the descendant of yet another E-Lacrosse team. Small world!

Portside landed Miller Lite as a corporate sponsor and plays as a post-collegiate spring team as well. In fact, they will be down at the Ocean City Classic this weekend where I will probably see them play deep into the playoffs. In the championship against E-Lacrosse, Portside was missing some pretty great defensive players who will be there in OC, like Virginia great and longstick middie Trey Whitty, Kyle Rubeling at defense, Trae Rodgers in the goalie and Matt Feild at short stick defense. The MVP for the game was Portside's Hayward Howard.

E-Lacrosse was led in the championship effort by Eddie Douglas (Duke Helmet in the video), a Gilman grad, Duke Captain and then coach and Jeremy Sieverts (Maryland Helmet), the former McDonogh star. Sieverts transferred to Maryland from the now-defunct Butler program and will be a big reason for Maryland's rise to national contention next spring. Greg Froshman (white helmet) is an All-American for Paul Cantabene at Stevenson (formerly Villa Julie). In the cage for E-Lacrosse was Towson's Matt Antol. Enjoy the video. It's great lacrosse!

There's a sentimental twist to this year's championship and video as the late Scott Boyle's wife and brother present the trophy to Marc Hoffman as I filmed. I got choked up, to be honest.

August 16, 2008
e Lacrosse Store