e-Lacrosse : news, games, videos, blogs, forums, store

2009 E-Lacrosse Feature: Youth rules on 2009 U.S. women's team

The final team representing the United States has been chosen for the 2009 Federation of International Lacrosse Women's World Cup, which will be held June 17-27 in the Czech Republic. The team was selected after a full year of tryouts, culminating this past weekend with the Champion Challenge in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Last World Cup the U.S. lost to Jen Adams and Australia, but only two players from the 2005 U.S. squad are included on this team. Michele DeJulius was an alternate in 2005 and is on the 2009 team. Quinn Carney was on the 2005 team and is an alternate this time. DeJulius is the oldest member of this very young U.S. team where even Michi Ellers (Georgetown '04) Acacia Walker (Maryland '05) and Katie Chrest (Duke '06) are considered older players.

The team is so young that it includes six current collegiate players. They will face a far more experienced Australian team in the summer games, where their youth may help or hurt them. I was stunned that Amy Appelt was not on the team, but don't know if she even tried out or is injured. I just expected she would be part of our next effort to win a world championship. I'm not surprised by the inclusion of some of my favorite players: Kristen Kjellman (Northwestern '07), Sarah Albrecht (Northwestern '06), Regina Oliver (Ohio State '05) and Caroline Cryer (Duke '09). I am predicting right now that if the U.S. wins the Cup, Cryer will be the MVP. She and Kjellman are the best players I have ever seen, besides Jen Adams, whom they will have to beat to win.

You can see the new U.S. team play this weekend in the South of the Border tournament in North Carolina, where they will play against England and Wales.

Here's the whole 2009 U.S. women's team roster:

Caroline Cryer - Duke '09
Lindsey Munday - Northwestern '06
Katie Rowan - Syracuse '09

Sarah Albrecht - Northwestern '06
Sarah Bullard - Duke '11
Katie Chrest - Duke '06
Michele DeJuliis - Penn State '98
Whitney Douthett - Dartmouth '07
Michi Ellers - Georgetown '04
Kristen Kjellman - Northwestern '07
Erica LaGrow - North Carolina '08
Caitlyn McFadden - Maryland '10
Holly McGarvie - Princeton '09
Acacia Walker - Maryland '05

Amber Falcone - North Carolina '09
Regina Oliver - Ohio State '05

Megan Huether - Duke '06
Devon Wills - Dartmouth '06

Amy Altig - James Madison '05
Hilary Bowen - Northwestern '09
Quinn Carney - Maryland '01
Christy Finch - Northwestern '08
Jessica Lieb - Penn State '08
Nikki Lieb - Virginia '06

February 2, 2009
e Lacrosse Store