April 2002


Memorial Pairings, Schedule Finalized

The field for the 2002 A. Hrebesky Memorial has grown to ten teams with the addition of LCC Radotin B, and, LC Pardubice from the Eastern Czech Republic. Teams will compete in two round-robin groups with the top two going through to Sunday’s semi-final. Group A features Team USA from Philadelphia, LC Passau, VFK Berlin, LC Pardubice, and host club LCC Radotin A. Group B looks to be the tougher draw: Tournament favorite REBEL from Baltimore has five current and former pro players, but will be challenged by perennial Prague powerhouses LC Jizni Mesto and TJ Malesice, plus, the reigning European field lacrosse champion German National Team. The group is rounded out by LCC Radotin B. LCC is busily preparing for the April 19-21 event and looks forward to welcoming all the teams for what represents the best international box lacrosse competition of the year!!  The Memorial represents  valuable progress in the development of world  lacrosse: The event is covered on Czech TV, Radio, and newspapers. Organizers expect 2,500 spectators  over the weekend. Info:

Teams gather for the official opening of the 2001 Memorial


Czechs Work to Engage Hockey Contacts

In the battle to push lacrosse into the cultural mainstream, Czech Lax is tapping hockey, its more established sister sport, for support. The Czech Lacrosse Organization has reached out to the sixty Czech players in the NHL with newsletters and brochures in hopes that they’ll rally to the lacrosse cause. Additionally, CLA organizers are following up on a lead from the Lacrosse Without Borders Chief, Dr. Otakar Hubschmann, to contact a Slavia, Prague hockey coach who wants to introduce lacrosse at his youth hockey camp this summer.  Slavia is one of the biggest sport clubs in the CR—It has extensive, state of the art facilities, plus the excellent organizational, marketing, and recruiting capability to ensure the successful assimilation and growth of lacrosse. If Slavia proceeds to establish a lacrosse club from its experience this summer, it will put tremendous pressure on rival clubs to follow suit. From here, lacrosse and the Czech League will move towards professionalism and full cultural recognition.

Czech Field League to Kick off

ME 1997: Veronika BrychcinovaThe annual spring field lacrosse league commences with first round action set for April 13-14 in Pilsen. The five teams comprising the men’s league will be in action with 2001 finalists LC Jizni Mesto (Southtown) facing off against host club LC Pilsen in Saturday’s 12:00 opener, while TJ Malesice draws reigning Czech league champ LCC at 4:30. For the first time in the history of Czech lacrosse, spectators can take in women’s and men’s league matches at the same venue: 2001 women’s victors LC JM have a 10:00 showdown Saturday versus Free Foot Flamingo, while the LCC Radotin ladies will duel with Prague rivals Malesice at 2:30. Sunday, men’s action pits LC JM against LCC Radotin B and Radotin A faces Pilsen, while the women’s match ups feature FFF and Malesice, followed by an early test pairing 2001 finalists LC JM and Radotin.

Znak                                Free Foot Flamingo veteran Veronika Brychcinova



The CALF and Czech Lacrosse are pleased to report steady giving from newsletter recipients, yet, we are still hard-pressed to fund Czech team participation in this July’s  Perth World Cup. For readers considering a donation, please support Czechlax and our World Lacrosse Initiative with a check to:

The Czech-American Lacrosse Foundation

Attn: Chuck Beattie                     Telephone: 703-329-120

6218 Tally-Ho Lane                      E-mail:

Alexandria, VA 22307

Your gifts are vital to ensuring the viability of Czech Lacrosse, the main catalyst for the sport’s growth and development in the region of Central Europe.

We are extremely grateful to our growing list of patrons:

Kathy & Randy Erickson

Michael & Stephanie O’Connor

Alex Schultes

Mary Beth & Phillip Thomas

Mr. & Mrs. Charles Barrett Jr.

Jack Piatelli

Mr. & Mrs. WB Hetzel Jr.

John Ritchie Jr.

Mr. & Mrs. W.R. Monkman

Dennis J. Gleissner

John S. Lillard

Dr. Thomas Vennum Jr.

John Hinrichsen

Dean Bedford



Brine, Inc.